Astrology

Blogging is known to open doors, as well as discussions. Well, today I am starting with an A to Z thematic, weekly post, which will be posted at the beginning of the week. The A to Z posts will be related to a topic beginning with a letter of the alphabet, in sequential order.  Any topic?  Yep, anything at all. How does this tie in with Three Sisters Exclusive? Well, the book is based on my family’s life. I figure anything I’m interested in is naturally part of my life. And as I am writing the story……

But you’re thinking, it is so random. Welcome to my life. Random should have been my middle name.

I’m jumping in at the deep end. I’m going to start with Astrology, the study of the influence of the stars and planets on human affairs. Actually, the Webster dictionary I looked up the definition in has, “The study of the supposed influence of the stars…..”  I smiled to myself when I read it. It is copyrighted in 1995, but I wonder if the editor was, like me, taught the conservative Christian doctrine as a child. I was taught anything related to astrology was heresy and foolish. I did not begin to question this until I was in my forties. And when a person begins searching for answers at that age, they do not accept what is written in magazines and books without first finding out the credentials of the author. This blog doesn’t allow room for all the information (facts, theories, and conjecture) I discovered. But surely the editor of my dictionary wasn’t insinuating the movement of the planets and the stars has no effect on mankind.

This is partly what I’ve learned and partly what I’ve experienced:

  1. There are lunar times that are best for planting certain types of plants. (Farmer’s Almanac)
  2. The position of the planets has an impact on a person’s health. (Napoleon Bonaparte, Hitler, & Osama Bin Laden all died between April 30th and May 5th)
  3. Whichever phase of the moon a baby is conceived under determines which phase of the moon he/she is born under. (Wish I’d known this when I was having my babies)
  4. The astrology signs impact personalities. (Do you know any passive Leo’s?)

It would be great to hear from you about this somewhat radical, but still rather common, phenomena. And we can all grow in understanding and knowledge.

