What did I learn in 2011?

I had to think about it a bit, but when it all started rolling in, I realized it was an AWESOME year.

  • I’ve learned first-hand about the desert’s beauty as well as its harshness. There are the cute little wallabies preyed on by the savage dingoes. Giant, age-old trees destroyed by fires that burn out of control. There are colorful, clear sunrises and mystic sunsets obliterated by swirling dust storms. Regardless of the unrelenting heat and arid soil there is foliage covered with brilliant red blossoms growing wild. Underlying it all is a feeling of timelessness, like it was this way thousands of years ago, and will be the same a thousand years hence.
  • I’ve learned more about the people in this town Alice Springs. And I’ve learned that ‘good-old-boy’ system thrives everywhere. And to me, who has never lived anywhere long enough to appreciate it, or ever possess the ‘right’ criteria, I continue to learn how to deal with it.
  • I have learned, and finally accepted, that I will never really belong, or fit in with the crowd, anywhere. I have stopped trying. I am now chartering my own course, with my own compass.
  • I learned that I am an old lady now. I don’t have to like it, but I can see the thought in my grand-daughter’s eyes. I can see it in the face of the passenger I sit next to on the plane. I look in the mirror and see my Mom, and I determine to exercise more and eat less (more on that later).
  • I learned how to live in the moment. The last few years I’ve tried to cultivate this, and hopefully there has been an improvement in 2011. I’m remembering the times I’ve taken this year to just enjoy where I’m at for the moment, rather than worry about where the moment is going to take me.
  • I’ve learned that the times of my life when I didn’t write were the soul-starvation times. I compare those times with these days when I am able to write most every day. I am very thankful to have this time. I realize my writing enlarges my understanding, not just of what I am writing about, but myself, others, and the world at large. It helps me become the person I want to be; more aware, more discerning, more patient…

What have you learned in 2011? You may not want to share it, but I hope you will. What you have learned may be a lesson for someone else also.

