I’ve been thinking this week a lot about angels. There are several questions I have, but mostly, I’m very thankful for them.

I’m thankful for their protection and wisdom. I used to work in a little canteen, late at night. Quite often, I was the last one to leave the premises. I always had the cash drawer and drove an open jeep. Not the most secure set up. One of the last nights I was there, one of the volunteers asked if I wanted him to stay till I was ready to go. I told him to go ahead and leave; that my guardian angel would take care of me. He looked at me strangely and remarked, “But they’re not going to fight off the creep that sneaks up on you.” Without thinking twice, I replied, “This one will, he’s my son.” I got another strange look, but he just nodded and promptly left. I thought about it while cleaning up and realized those words came out because that is what I truly believe and I wondered how many times my angel has come to my rescue. I also realized I truly was not afraid.

An angel is usually thought to be light, airy, and beautiful. But sometimes when I see a beggar I wonder if he, or she, is really an angel in disguise, searching for kindred souls.  Archbishop, Desmond Tutu, once said “Angels, like parables and fine poetry, speak in many layers of meaning and mystery, trying to express the inexpressible. If we ignore them, our lives are the poorer.” Are they our window into the world beyond the veil? When we listen to the true music of our souls are we really listening to angels? Are the songs we hear their guidance? I’m sure their touch is often very subtle and unobtrusive, and if we’re not fully aware we will miss it.

Photo of my Angel

My Guardian Angel

I would love to hear about your experience with the essence of an angel?

